Tag «微信深夜福利群二维码2019»

Gaitree Rookhum re-elected as president of Women Lawyers Association

first_imgGaitree Ramona Rookhum has been re-elected to serve as president of the Guyana Association of Women Lawyers (GAWL).The GAWL said on Friday that during its recent annual general meeting, several persons from the previous year were re-elected to continue serving along with Rookhum.Pretima Lall receiving her token from the Honourable Chief Justice Roxane GeorgeServing as GAWL Vice President alongside Rookhum will be Shellon Boyce. Meanwhile, Chandrawattie Persaud has been elected to serve as Secretary, Alanna Lall as Treasurer, and Coleen Sparman-Stephens as the Assistant Secretary Treasurer.Jaya Singh Backreedy, Denise Hodge, Anita Mohan Hamilton, and Keshia Chase were also elected as committee members.“The President, in her report for the year 2017-2018, highlighted the work of the Association for the past year, which included outreaches undertaken, partnerships created, consultative meetings attended, and pro bono services offered to the wider public.She also thanked members for their donations towards hurricane relief for the region, back-to-school supplies, and Christmas presents to the children at the Sophia Care Centre, and toiletries hampers to the women at the New Amsterdam Prison and the girls at the Sophia Juvenile Holding Centre, among others,” the release said.In addition, the president also noted how pleased she was to see the promotion of women in the profession to high offices throughout the year.She also voiced concerns over the non-confirmation of the acting Chief Justice and Chancellor to the present date.The term has seen notable achievements, which include the public education outreach programme done through a monthly television appearance on the NCN Morning Show ‘Guyana Today’, which is slated to continue.In addition to the elections, the GAWL also hosted a brief presentation ceremony for the winners of the Essay Competition, which was the final activity in the Association’s 30th anniversary celebrations.Renika Anand of Marian Academy received an award for participating in the competition to represent Forms 1-3. She was handed her award by the Honourable Madame Chancellor Justice Yonette Cummings Edwards.Meanwhile, Pretima Lall of the Bishops’ High School was rewarded for her participation in the Forms 4-5 category by the Honourable Madam Chief Justice Roxane George; and Timothy Richmond, also of The Bishops’ High School, received a token for participating in the Forms 4-5 category by the Honourable Madame Justice Nicola Pierre, Commissioner of Title.last_img read more